Team Namibia’s Annual General Meeting was held at the Windhoek Country Club & Resort on Tuesday 23 June 2015 under the theme “Local Procurement: A catalyst for Growth at Home”.

Keynote address was delivered by Hon. Immanuel Ngatjizeko, Minister of Industrialisation, Trade and SME Development, who provided industry an overview of the Government led interventions currently underway, relating to the theme of local procurement and market access and shared a detailed report on progress being made.

Team Namibia is currently implementing its 3 year strategy to “create a sustainable competitive advantage for Namibian products and services”. Team Namibia has placed strategic focus on:

1) inspiring competitive standards

2) actively promoting local goods and services to create preference and purchase

3) facilitating market access to stimulate SME growth and ultimate sustainable economic development.

Delivering the opening statement, Chairperson of the Board, Tarah Shaanika qualified Team Namibia’s strategic focus, sharing that “Through Team Namibia’s effort to grow local and foreign consumer markets, the increased demand for Namibian products and services increases output volumes, which should in turn necessitate business operations to expand and employ more Namibians. This enlarges the disposable income base and translates into increased demand. So at Team Namibia we dare to believe that - Namibia can consume her way out of poverty.”

Daisry Mathias, Team Namibia Chief Executive Officer reported an 11% growth on membership, year ended December 31, 2014.

Tarah Shaanika also announced the resignation of his own directorship and the resignations of the following directors: Dixon Norval (Vice-Chair), Henry Feris, Karape Katjivive, Moses Shiikwa, Jaco Venter and Pauline Thomas. Current serving CEO, Daisry Mathias will step down from office on 15 July 2015.

Mrs Roberta da Costa has been announced as the new Team Namibia Chief Executive Officer.

Six (6) new board directors were elected by the AGM and are announced as follows: Nobert Wurm (Pick N Pay), Gideon Shilongo (re-elected director Ohlthaver & List), Peter Greeff (Etosha Fishing), Adelaide Shikongo (Oshinge Manufacturing), Robby Amadhila (Roama Gates Manufacturing), Danie Grobler (Plastic Packaging). The Team Namibia board is composed of 16 directors, serving a two-year term each.


Leave a comment

back to top

You must have Javascript enabled to view this website!

click here to see how to enable it
website by Intouch Interactive Marketing